Last week I went to Jamaica with my friend Erin.  We were both stressed out, burnt out and seriously needing to just slow down.  When we outlined our itinerary for the trip it looked something like 1. Breakfast 2. Beach 3. Bed.  The trip was just great and I came back feeling super refreshed, but I made some fascinating connections down there which I wanted to share in today’s post.  As much as Erin and I said we wanted to slow down, we didn’t want to.  What do I mean by this?  Well perhaps you’ll say we’re impatient, but we kept finding ourselves feeling that everything was just moving too slowly.  We weren’t brought our water fast enough, the people who set up the pool towels took much to long to see us standing by the empty chairs, and I found myself waiving my hand in the air at the waitress (like my grandmother does at a diner) trying to get her attention for an ice coffee.  So while we wanted to slow down ourselves, we didn’t want everything else to slow down around us.  I will tell you it’s true that after every sentence Jamaicans say “mon,” (Erin told me there’s a reason for this but she cannot recall it); and I eventually found myself thinking that if they eliminated that word from their sentences they could communicate a lot more efficiently.   Had Erin and I stayed there longer we may have considered approaching the Ritz manager to ask if we could do a training program on more prompt service.  Now I’m sure all the Jamaican’s looked at us and felt sorry that we lead such rushed lives, and cannot just sit back calmly and wait for a glass of orange juice for 12 minutes.   But you know what?  I was there to optimize my sun bathing time, and that wait for orange juice was cutting into that.  So yes Erin and I are true New Yorker’s, but there’s nothing wrong with that.  I’d rather love my home more than anywhere else- it makes living here a-okay.

